Skip to content
St Davids Counts — St Davids, in numbers.Local help →

St Davids · Wales

People and living standards

Pembrokeshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Pembrokeshire

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Pembrokeshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 112,446 in 1991 to 125,849 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Pembrokeshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 112,141 people in 1996; 125,849 people in 2025. 12.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Pembrokeshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991112,446
1992113,146
1993112,885
1994113,086
1995112,249
1996112,141
1997111,640
1998111,814
1999111,667
2000112,538
2001113,058
2002114,146
2003115,147
2004116,428
2005117,204
2006118,278
2007119,640
2008121,134
2009121,563
2010121,974
2011122,613
2012122,621
2013122,302
2014122,148
2015121,721
2016121,438
2017121,382
2018121,194
2019121,432
2020122,572
2021123,633
2022124,388
2023125,075
2024125,670
2025125,849
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Pembrokeshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,282 people in 1996; 20,093 people in 2025. 13.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Pembrokeshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199123,268
199223,555
199323,752
199423,681
199523,310
199623,282
199723,072
199823,014
199922,998
200023,172
200123,242
200223,258
200323,349
200423,201
200522,976
200622,843
200722,604
200822,414
200922,185
201021,990
201122,002
201221,889
201321,590
201421,330
201521,139
201620,975
201720,913
201820,937
201920,929
202020,897
202120,747
202220,739
202320,596
202420,420
202520,093
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Pembrokeshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 68,295 people in 1996; 70,949 people in 2025. 3.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Pembrokeshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199169,786
199269,811
199369,006
199469,212
199568,538
199668,295
199767,945
199867,937
199967,609
200068,114
200168,237
200268,864
200369,261
200470,184
200570,825
200671,610
200772,744
200873,790
200973,823
201073,761
201173,697
201272,934
201372,202
201471,740
201570,934
201670,356
201769,920
201869,293
201969,121
202069,703
202170,383
202270,649
202371,031
202471,136
202570,949
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Pembrokeshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,564 people in 1996; 34,807 people in 2025. 69.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Pembrokeshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,392
199219,780
199320,127
199420,193
199520,401
199620,564
199720,623
199820,863
199921,060
200021,252
200121,579
200222,024
200322,537
200423,043
200523,403
200623,825
200724,292
200824,930
200925,555
201026,223
201126,914
201227,798
201328,510
201429,078
201529,648
201630,107
201730,549
201830,964
201931,382
202031,972
202132,503
202233,000
202333,448
202434,114
202534,807
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 123,359 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Pembrokeshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,1590.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2440.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,1620.9%
White120,37597.6%
Other ethnic group4190.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 122,439 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Pembrokeshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White120,12198.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7330.6%
Asian/Asian British1,1921%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1790.1%
Other ethnic group2140.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 114,131 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Pembrokeshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White113,10599.1%
Mixed3660.3%
Asian/Asian British3020.3%
Black/Black British880.1%
Chinese/Other2700.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Pembrokeshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,620 per person in 1997; £21,816 per person in 2024. 126.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Pembrokeshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,620
19989,699
19999,994
200010,063
200110,500
200211,130
200311,447
200411,896
200512,435
200613,119
200713,188
200813,768
200913,920
201014,191
201114,397
201214,991
201315,290
201415,736
201516,140
201616,269
201716,688
201817,147
201917,667
202017,801
202118,560
202219,154
202320,433
202421,816
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Pembrokeshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -9.3% in 1997; -16% in 2024. 6.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Pembrokeshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-9.3
1998-10.4
1999-11.7
2000-15.5
2001-15.1
2002-12
2003-12.2
2004-12.3
2005-11.5
2006-10.4
2007-14.1
2008-12.6
2009-13.1
2010-12.1
2011-11.6
2012-11.2
2013-12.7
2014-13
2015-15.2
2016-15.5
2017-15.3
2018-16
2019-16.2
2020-15.2
2021-15
2022-16.6
2023-16.4
2024-16
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

19.2%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.8%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.8%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£209,000

July 2026 · Pembrokeshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£694

August 2026 · Pembrokeshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.