Skip to content
St DavidsCountsSt Davids, in numbers.Local help →

St Davids · Wales

Community life

Pembrokeshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.

People aged 65 or over

26.2%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents

32,342 out of 123,360.

Source and method →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.8%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

8,362 out of 123,360.

Source and method →

Households facing at least one measured disadvantage

54%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

29,941 out of 55,488.

Source and method →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

19.2%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

10,679 out of 55,488.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

18.8%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

19,283 out of 102,551.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent

31.2%

21 March 2021 · Pembrokeshire

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

31,991 out of 102,551.

Source and method →

Different needs within the area

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4% to 10%

People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 4.4% in Carew and Jeffreyston to 10% in Pembroke Dock: Central — a gap of 5.6 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 59 of 59 current wards with comparable figures.

Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People reporting bad or very bad health · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Carew and Jeffreyston4.4%922,101
The Havens4.5%881,943
St Dogmaels4.7%972,056
Haverfordwest: Priory4.7%1212,555
Maenclochog4.8%1042,176
Wiston4.9%971,963
Rudbaxton and Spittal5.1%881,732
Cilgerran and Eglwyswrw5.1%1192,333
Boncath and Clydau5.2%1052,007
St David's5.3%921,748
Bro Gwaun5.3%1031,953
Lampeter Velfrey5.3%821,548
Narberth: Rural5.4%711,307
Llanrhian5.5%1001,814
Solva5.5%951,712
Letterston5.6%1322,375
Llangwm5.8%1332,311
Camrose5.8%1071,844
Crymych and Mynachlog-ddu5.8%1352,324
Newport and Dinas5.8%1061,818
Haverfordwest: Garth6%1552,572
Martletwy6%1151,905
Haverfordwest: Prendergast6.1%1302,137
Fishguard: North West6.2%981,589
Hundleton6.2%1071,721
Lamphey6.2%1071,721
Burton6.3%1171,855
Amroth and Saundersfoot North6.4%1282,008
Manorbier and Penally6.5%1342,072
St Ishmael's6.6%1512,276
Narberth: Urban6.7%1852,769
Pembroke: St Michael6.7%1231,828
Milford: Hubberston6.9%1802,620
St Florence and St Mary Out Liberty6.9%1161,683
Tenby: North7%1391,996
Neyland: West7%1391,991
Fishguard: North East7%1281,833
Haverfordwest: Portfield7%1702,430
Kilgetty and Begelly7%1612,299
Johnston7%1562,213
Goodwick7.1%1442,020
East Williamston7.2%1341,859
Pembroke Dock: Market7.4%1331,803
Pembroke Dock: Pennar7.5%1381,844
Saundersfoot South7.7%1211,570
Haverfordwest: Castle7.7%1782,304
Neyland: East7.7%1682,173
Pembroke: St Mary North8.1%2002,454
Milford: North8.2%2032,478
Merlin's Bridge8.4%1862,220
Milford: Hakin8.5%2232,635
Milford: East8.6%2462,872
Tenby: South8.6%1802,095
Pembroke Dock: Bufferland8.6%1441,670
Pembroke: Monkton and St Mary South9.1%3373,684
Milford: West9.2%2012,194
Milford: Central9.4%1892,005
Pembroke Dock: Bush9.8%2142,173
Pembroke Dock: Central10%2162,167
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 65 or over

11% to 41.8%

People aged 65 or over ranged from 11% in Haverfordwest: Garth to 41.8% in Pembroke: St Michael — a gap of 30.9 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 59 of 59 current wards with comparable figures.

Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 65 or over · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Haverfordwest: Garth11%2822,571
Milford: Hubberston16%4192,619
Pembroke Dock: Bush16.3%3542,168
Pembroke Dock: Pennar16.4%3021,844
Haverfordwest: Castle17.8%4112,304
Milford: East18%5152,869
Pembroke: St Mary North19.5%4782,450
Milford: West19.7%4322,191
Pembroke Dock: Market20.2%3641,804
Merlin's Bridge21%4652,219
Haverfordwest: Priory21.4%5472,554
Pembroke: Monkton and St Mary South22.2%8183,682
Pembroke Dock: Bufferland22.2%3711,669
Haverfordwest: Prendergast23%4922,138
Johnston23.2%5142,212
Milford: North24.2%6002,479
Milford: Hakin24.2%6382,636
Goodwick24.3%4922,022
Maenclochog24.4%5312,176
Narberth: Rural24.4%3191,306
Haverfordwest: Portfield24.5%5962,430
Neyland: West24.6%4901,992
Carew and Jeffreyston24.9%5232,104
Bro Gwaun25.3%4951,953
Llangwm25.6%5912,311
Rudbaxton and Spittal25.6%4441,731
Solva26.2%4491,712
Crymych and Mynachlog-ddu26.6%6192,323
Neyland: East26.7%5802,173
Milford: Central26.7%5352,004
Cilgerran and Eglwyswrw27.5%6422,334
Boncath and Clydau27.6%5542,006
Pembroke Dock: Central27.7%5992,166
Letterston27.7%6592,375
Wiston27.9%5481,963
Narberth: Urban28%7752,769
Fishguard: North West28.1%4471,589
Burton28.6%5321,859
Tenby: South28.6%6002,095
Lampeter Velfrey29.3%4541,548
Hundleton29.4%5071,723
The Havens29.5%5751,947
St Florence and St Mary Out Liberty30.3%5111,684
Kilgetty and Begelly30.8%7082,299
Martletwy30.8%5871,905
East Williamston31%5761,859
St Ishmael's31.1%7072,275
Tenby: North31.7%6341,997
Llanrhian31.9%5791,815
Lamphey32.1%5531,723
Amroth and Saundersfoot North32.4%6512,009
Manorbier and Penally32.7%6772,071
St Dogmaels32.8%6742,058
Camrose32.9%6061,844
St David's34.1%5961,749
Fishguard: North East35%6411,833
Newport and Dinas38.8%7051,819
Saundersfoot South39.2%6151,569
Pembroke: St Michael41.8%7631,824
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

12.7% to 27.4%

People aged 16+ with no qualifications ranged from 12.7% in The Havens to 27.4% in Pembroke Dock: Bush — a gap of 14.7 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 59 of 59 current wards with comparable figures.

Formal qualifications are only one part of someone's skills. Training decisions also need current vacancies, employment and residents' experience.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 16+ with no qualifications · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
The Havens12.7%2111,664
Rudbaxton and Spittal12.8%1851,440
Llangwm13%2491,911
Burton13.8%2171,575
St Dogmaels14.5%2541,753
Haverfordwest: Priory14.6%3062,097
Wiston14.9%2431,633
St David's15.2%2341,537
Cilgerran and Eglwyswrw15.3%2991,952
Newport and Dinas15.7%2491,590
Carew and Jeffreyston15.9%2691,694
Lamphey16.1%2431,507
Narberth: Rural16.1%1771,096
Maenclochog16.4%2911,776
Camrose16.5%2641,599
Letterston16.7%3291,966
Martletwy16.8%2761,647
Hundleton16.9%2511,482
Amroth and Saundersfoot North17.1%3001,753
Pembroke Dock: Market17.2%2591,502
Fishguard: North East17.4%2691,548
Pembroke: St Michael17.7%2921,648
Solva17.9%2651,480
St Ishmael's17.9%3461,928
Lampeter Velfrey18%2391,329
Crymych and Mynachlog-ddu18%3551,967
Narberth: Urban18.1%4202,317
Neyland: West18.3%3061,669
Llanrhian18.5%2971,606
Manorbier and Penally18.8%3371,797
Haverfordwest: Prendergast19.1%3341,750
Boncath and Clydau19.2%3211,675
St Florence and St Mary Out Liberty19.5%2771,421
Tenby: North19.6%3341,708
Goodwick19.6%3291,679
Haverfordwest: Castle19.9%3821,919
Johnston20%3531,765
Kilgetty and Begelly20.1%3971,971
Saundersfoot South20.2%2851,408
Milford: North20.3%4021,983
Pembroke Dock: Pennar20.3%2911,433
Neyland: East20.4%3711,823
Bro Gwaun20.4%3241,585
Haverfordwest: Portfield20.5%4011,954
Pembroke: St Mary North20.5%3901,899
Milford: Hubberston20.6%4091,984
Milford: Hakin20.7%4512,182
East Williamston20.9%3321,587
Haverfordwest: Garth21%3971,891
Merlin's Bridge21.1%3751,778
Milford: East21.7%4872,248
Fishguard: North West21.8%2911,334
Pembroke Dock: Bufferland22%3001,361
Milford: Central22.1%3771,703
Tenby: South22.5%4061,807
Pembroke: Monkton and St Mary South23.6%6932,938
Pembroke Dock: Central24.3%4541,868
Milford: West24.5%4351,773
Pembroke Dock: Bush27.4%4551,660
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

9% to 32.2%

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages ranged from 9% in The Havens to 32.2% in Pembroke Dock: Bush — a gap of 23.3 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 59 of 59 current wards with comparable figures.

These households met at least two census conditions covering education, employment, health and housing. This is not an income or poverty measure.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
The Havens9%78867
Rudbaxton and Spittal10.7%81755
Burton12.3%94765
Newport and Dinas12.6%113897
St Ishmael's12.9%123950
Camrose13.3%107802
St David's13.5%114847
Haverfordwest: Priory13.7%1591,157
Wiston13.8%109791
Martletwy13.8%112812
Llangwm14%138986
Pembroke: St Michael14%127906
Carew and Jeffreyston14%121863
Cilgerran and Eglwyswrw14.2%1431,007
St Florence and St Mary Out Liberty14.2%97683
Hundleton14.4%111772
Lampeter Velfrey14.8%96649
Maenclochog15%136909
Llanrhian15%123821
St Dogmaels15.4%147955
Letterston15.5%1591,026
Saundersfoot South15.5%121779
Lamphey16.7%129772
Amroth and Saundersfoot North16.8%156930
Haverfordwest: Prendergast16.8%164974
Solva17%116683
Narberth: Rural17.5%99566
Boncath and Clydau17.5%151861
Johnston17.6%161917
Manorbier and Penally17.7%165933
Kilgetty and Begelly17.8%1871,050
Fishguard: North East18%160888
Narberth: Urban18%2421,343
East Williamston18.1%148817
Tenby: North18.3%174950
Crymych and Mynachlog-ddu18.9%1941,024
Bro Gwaun19.1%150786
Neyland: East19.9%2031,021
Fishguard: North West20.2%151749
Goodwick20.7%193934
Haverfordwest: Portfield21.3%2321,089
Neyland: West21.3%191896
Pembroke Dock: Market21.5%179833
Milford: Central21.8%2291,051
Milford: North22.6%2481,095
Tenby: South22.9%2471,080
Milford: Hakin23.9%2991,249
Pembroke Dock: Bufferland24.6%188763
Merlin's Bridge25.1%233930
Pembroke: St Mary North25.1%2671,063
Haverfordwest: Castle25.5%3121,223
Milford: Hubberston25.6%2731,067
Milford: East26.1%3321,271
Pembroke Dock: Pennar26.8%203758
Milford: West27.1%2731,007
Pembroke: Monkton and St Mary South27.3%4691,717
Pembroke Dock: Central28%3161,130
Haverfordwest: Garth28.7%3201,114
Pembroke Dock: Bush32.2%307952
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Local places and initiatives

St Davids

Maes Y Felin affordable homes

The council reports completing the second phase of new homes, expanding local housing provision.

Second phase reported complete · evidence dated 2026-05-11

Responsible body: Pembrokeshire County Council

Latest evidence: The release reports 18 homes across both phases of Maes Y Felin. It separately describes Llys Glas Fryn and its local lettings policy; the two schemes are not added together here.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Second phase of housing development ready for residents →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep new affordable homes useful to local residents over time →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

St Davids and links to the coast

St Davids green space and walking proposals

The published assessment proposes better routes to the coast and a community growing space on Glasfryn Road.

Assessment proposals; delivery and funding not confirmed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority and potential delivery partners

Latest evidence: The February 2023 assessment lists opportunities rather than funded commitments. The source supplies a publication month but no exact day.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Pembrokeshire Green Infrastructure Assessment: St Davids →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
How to track delivery →

Whitesands beach near St Davids

Whitesands accessible changing facilities

A beach-side changing facility opened in May 2023 with an adult changing bench and hoist. Keeping it usable requires reliable access information and maintenance.

Opening reported in May 2023; present access arrangements need checking · evidence dated 2023-05-17

Responsible body: Pembrokeshire County Council

Latest evidence: The opening announcement describes accessible changing equipment and key-card access through local staffed facilities. It also describes beach mobility equipment. Current opening hours and equipment availability are not established by that older announcement.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Welsh Government Brilliant Basics 2022–23 support with council match funding; amount not stated in the reviewed release.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named site or council-wide remit is not proof of benefits to every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

First Pembrokeshire beach-side Changing Place facility opened →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make coastal facilities reliably usable for disabled residents →

Plan homes and care around an older population →

Bring support closer to people in poor health →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Look beneath the area average →